Congress Experts

The "Congress Experts Mainz" are ambassadors for the science, business and congress location Mainz. They are multipliers and proven ambassadors for the conference and congress location Mainz. The award is presented to persons who are particularly committed to the location and who represent it in their networks. The honorary congress ambassadors have a personal connection to Mainz and are willing to take on representative activities.

 The "Congress Experts Mainz" are a joint initiative of the state capital Mainz, the Chamber of Industry and Commerce for Rheinhessen (IHK Rheinhessen) and mainzplus CITYMARKETING GmbH. The overriding aim of the initiative is to attract further national and international congresses and conferences to Mainz.


Congress Experts 2019

On 21 November 2019, the circle of the four existing Mainz Congress Experts was expanded by two additional ambassadors. Hilke Nagel, Managing Director of VDP Die Prädikatsweingüter and Anette Petzold, Managing Director of SCOPE Messestrategie GmbH, were officially appointed in the Waschhaus of KUZ - Kulturzentrum Mainz.

Both managing directors have been loyal to mainzplus CITMARKETING GmbH - and thus also to the state capital of Mainz - for many years in the context of their events VDP.Weinbörse and Horizon.

Together with Hilke Nagel, it was announced in the middle of this year that the VDP.Weinbörse will remain in the Rheingoldhalle Mainz beyond 2019 - despite the fire in the old part of the congress centre in May. Every year, 2,500 visitors visit the Rheingoldhalle on two days in April to be part of the international wine trade fair. This is the only place to get a comprehensive overview of the new vintage of the best German wines. There is another reason to celebrate in 2022: the VDP.Weinbörse is looking forward to its 50th anniversary.

The women's power continues: Anette Petzoldt was also honoured as the second new congress ambassador for Mainz. Manuela Matz, economic department head of the state capital of Mainz and chairman of the supervisory board of mainzplus CITYMARKETING GmbH, Dr. Ingrid Vollmer, managing director of the Chamber of Industry and Commerce for Rheinhessen, and August Moderer, managing director of mainzplus CITYMARKETING GmbH, received the award. SCOPE Messestrategie GmbH - with Anette Petzoldt at the helm - has presented the HORIZON training fair in Mainz since 2007 - and this year for the first time in the Electoral Palace.

Only volunteer representatives who have a personal connection to Mainz and are willing to make a special commitment to Mainz as a location are appointed "Congress Experts". Recommendation marketing within the company's own networks plays an important role in this. Already in the last two years the title "Congress Expert Mainz" was awarded to Univ.-Prof. Dr. med. Hauke Lang, Prof. Dr. med. Christoph Huber, Univ.-Prof. Dr. Jairo Sinova and Daniel M. Metzler. All the congress ambassadors who have already been honoured distinguish themselves by holding important national and international congresses in Mainz. It is only through their personal commitment that Mainz has been further strengthened and advanced as a congress location.

 

 


Congress Experts 2018

Since December 3rd, the city of Mainz has had two further official ambassadors in the field of conferences and congresses. During a ceremony at wineBANK Mainz, Prof. Dr. Jairo Sinova, physics professor and director of SPICE (Spin Phenomena Interdisciplinary Center) at Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz, and Daniel M. Metzler, managing director of wikonect GmbH, accepted the prestigious award "Congress Experts Mainz". Both gentlemen have long been regarded as multipliers and promoters of the Mainz congress system and have rendered outstanding services to the location.

Prof. Dr. Jairo Sinova received his doctorate in physics from Indiana University and then taught and researched at universities in Tennessee and Texas as well as at the Academy of Sciences in Prague. At the beginning of 2014, he accepted a call to Johannes Gutenberg University to become Alexander von Humboldt Professor of Physics at the Institute of Physics, where he promoted the founding of the Spin Phenomena Interdisciplinary Center (SPICE). From 3 to 7 September 2018, Europe's largest congress on magnetic research - the "Joint European Magnetic Symposia" (JEMS) - took place in the Rheingoldhalle Mainz. 1,000 participants made their way to Mainz on five congress days - a total of 4,000 overnight stays were generated for the local hotel industry.

The JEMS Congress was largely organized by the Professional Congress Organizer (PCO) wikonect. Daniel M. Metzler is Managing Director of wikonect GmbH. Every year, wikonect organises up to 80 medical and scientific conferences and congresses in Germany and neighbouring countries. Thereof about 12 events in the Rheingoldhalle Mainz with up to 1,000 persons each.


Congress Experts 2017

The first appointment of the "Congress Experts" took place on 21 November 2017. Professor Hauke Lang, Director of the Clinic for General, Visceral and Transplant Surgery at the University Medical Center Mainz, and Professor Christoph Huber, President of CIMT (Association for Cancer Immunotherapy), are the new "Congress Experts" of the City of Mainz. Both were distinguished by their high level of commitment at their world congresses held in Mainz in 2017. They prevailed against competing venues and ensured that the congress location Mainz was the centre of attention worldwide.

Hauke Lang was chairman of the local organizing committee of the "European-African Hepato-Pancreato-Biliary Association" Congress (E-AHPBA), which took place from 23 to 26 May 2017 in Mainz. This congress has set itself the task of providing a forum for new achievements in state-of-the-art technology and for HPA surgery. HPA surgery deals with diseases of life (hepar), pancreas and gall bladder (bilis) to be treated surgically.

Until 2009, Prof. Dr. med. Christoph Huber served as Director of the III. Medical Clinic and Polyclinic of the University Medicine of the Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz. He is also chairman of the CIMT (Association for Cancer Immunotherapy) and sits on the board of the Ci3 Cluster for Individualized Immune Intervention (Ci3) e.V. In addition, Prof. Dr. Huber advises international pharmaceutical companies as well as research-based medium-sized companies and large scientific research institutions. CIMT offers its members the opportunity to share information and the latest findings between academic and industrial scientists, physicists and regulatory authorities who develop immunotherapies. Prof. Dr. Huber is significantly responsible for the development of the CIMT Congress in Mainz.

Congress Experts

Die "Congress Experts Mainz" sind Botschafter für den Wissenschafts-, Wirtschafts- und Kongressstandort Mainz. Sie sind Multiplikatoren und ausgewiesene Botschafter für den Tagungs- und Kongressstandort Mainz. Die Auszeichnung wird an Personen verliehen, die sich besonders für den Standort einsetzen und diesen in ihren Netzwerken repräsentieren. Die ehrenamtlich tätigen Kongressbotschafter weisen dabei einen persönlichen Bezug zum Standort Mainz auf und haben die Bereitschaft, repräsentative Tätigkeiten zu übernehmen.

Die "Congress Experts Mainz" sind eine gemeinsame Initiative der Landeshauptstadt Mainz, der IHK für Rheinhessen und der mainzplus CITYMARKETING GmbH. Das übergeordnete Ziel der Initiative ist es, weitere nationale und internationale Kongresse und Tagungen für den Standort Mainz zu gewinnen.


Congress Experts 2019

Am 21. November 2019 wurden der Kreis der vier bestehenden Mainzer Congress Experts um zweitere Botschafterinnen erweitert. Feierlich ernannt wurden im Waschhaus des KUZ - Kulturzentrum Mainz Hilke Nagel, Geschäftsführerin des VDP.Die Prädikatsweingüter und Anette Petzold, Geschäftsführerin der SCOPE Messestrategie GmbH.

Beide Geschäftsführerinnen halten der mainzplus CITMARKETING GmbH - und somit auch der Landeshauptstadt Mainz - im Rahmen der Durchführung ihrer Veranstaltungen VDP.Weinbörse und Horizon seit vielen Jahren dir Treue.

Gemeinsam mit Hilke Nagel konnte Mitte diesen Jahres verkündet werden, dass die VDP.Weinbörse auch über 2019 hinaus in der Rheingoldhalle Mainz bleibt – trotz des Brandes im alten Teil des Kongresszentrums im Mai. Jährlich suchen 2.500 Besucherinnen und Besucher an zwei Tagen im April die Rheingoldhalle auf, um Teil der internationalen Weinfachmesse zu sein. Nur hier erhält man einen umfassenden Überblick über den neuen Jahrgang der besten deutschen Weine. 2022 gibt es noch einen Grund zum Feiern: Die VDP.Weinbörse freut sich auf ihr 50-jähriges Jubiläum.

Der Frauenpower geht weiter: Außerdem wurde Anette Petzoldt als zweite neue Kongressbotschafterin für Mainz geehrt. Die Ehrung übernahmen Manuela Matz, Wirtschaftsdezernentin der Landeshauptstadt Mainz und Aufsichtsratsvorsitzende der mainzplus CITYMARKETING GmbH, Dr. Ingrid Vollmer, Geschäftsführerin der IHK für Rheinhessen sowie August Moderer, Geschäftsführer der mainzplus CITYMARKETING GmbH. Die SCOPE Messestrategie GmbH – mit Anette Petzoldt an der Spitze der Geschäftsführung – präsentiert seit 2007 die Ausbildungsmesse HORIZON in Mainz – und in diesem Jahr erstmals im Kurfürstlichen Schloss.

Zum „Congress Expert“ ernannt werden nur ehrenamtlich tätige Repräsentatoren, die einen persönlichen Bezug zu Mainz haben und die Bereitschaft mitbringen, sich besonders für den Standort Mainz einsetzen. Empfehlungsmarketing in den eigenen Netzwerken spielt dabei eine wichtige Rolle. Bereits in den letzten beiden Jahren wurde der Titel „Congress Expert Mainz“ an Univ.-Prof. Dr. med. Hauke Lang, Prof. Dr. med. Christoph Huber, Univ.-Prof. Dr. Jairo Sinova und Daniel M. Metzler verliehen. Alle bereits geehrten Kongressbotschafter zeichnen sich mit der Durchführung bedeutender nationaler und internationaler Kongresse in Mainz aus. Nur durch ihr persönliches Engagement wurde Mainz als Kongressstandort weiter gestärkt und nach vorne gebracht.


Congress Experts 2018

Seit dem 3. Dezember hat die Stadt Mainz zwei weitere offizielle Botschafter im Bereich des Tagungs- und Kongresswesens. Im Rahmen einer feierlichen Verleihung in der wineBANK Mainz haben Univ.-Prof. Dr. Jairo Sinova, Physik-Professor und Direktor des SPICE (Spin Phenomena Interdisciplinary Center)  an der Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz, sowie Daniel M. Metzler, Geschäftsführer der wikonect GmbH, die renommierte Auszeichnung „Congress Experts Mainz“ entgegen genommen. Beide Herren gelten seit langer Zeit als Multiplikatoren und Förderer des Mainzer Kongresswesens und haben sich besonders um den Standort verdient gemacht.

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Jairo Sinova promovierte an der Indiana University in Physik und lehrte und forschte danach an Universitäten in Tennessee und Texas sowie der Akademie der Wissenschaften in Prag. Anfang 2014 nahm er den Ruf an die Johannes Gutenberg-Universität an, um hier im Institut für Physik als Alexander von Humboldt-Professor die Gründung des „Spin Phenomena Interdisciplinary Center" (SPICE) voranzutreiben. Vom 3. bis zum 7. September 2018 fand in der Rheingoldhalle Mainz Europas größter Kongress zur Magnetforschung statt – das „Joint European Magnetic Symposia“ (JEMS). 1.000 Teilnehmer fanden an fünf Kongresstagen ihren Weg nach Mainz – insgesamt wurden für die lokale Hotellerie 4.000 Übernachtungen generiert.

Der JEMS-Kongress wurde zu großen Teilen vom Professional Congress Organizer (PCO) wikonect organisiert. Daniel M. Metzler ist Geschäftsführer der wikonect GmbH. wikonect veranstaltet jährlich bis zu 80 medizinische und wissenschaftliche Tagungen und Kongresse in Deutschland und dem benachbarten Ausland. Davon rund 12 Veranstaltungen in der Rheingoldhalle Mainz mit jeweils bis zu 1.000 Personen.


Congress Experts 2017

Die erstmalige Ernennung der "Congress Experts" ist am 21. November 2017 erfolgt. Univ.-Prof. Dr. med. Hauke Lang, Direktor der Klinik für Allgemein-, Viszeral- und Transplantationschirurgie an der Universitätsmedizin Mainz, und Prof. Dr. med. Christoph Huber, Präsident des CIMT (Association for Cancer Immunotherapy), sind die neuen "Congress Experts" der Stadt Mainz. Beide zeichneten sich durch ihr hohes Engagement im Rahmen ihrer im Jahr 2017 in Mainz durchgeführten Weltkongresse aus. Hierbei setzten sie sich gegen konkurrierende Austragungsorte durch und sorgten weltweit dafür, dass der Kongressstandort Mainz im Mittelpunkt des Geschehens stand.

Univ.-Prof. Dr. med. Hauke Lang war Vorsitzender des lokalen Organisationskomitees des „European-African Hepato-Pancreato-Biliary Association“-Kongresses (E-AHPBA), welcher vom 23. bis 26. Mai 2017 in Mainz stattfand. Dieser Kongress hat sich zur Aufgabe gemacht, ein Forum für neue Errungenschaften im Stand der Technik und für die HPA- Chirurgie zu gewährleisten. HPA-Chirurgie beschäftigt sich mit operativ zu behandelnden Erkrankungen der Leben (Hepar), der Bauchspeicheldrüse (Pankreas) und der Gallenblase (bilis).

Prof. Dr. med. Christoph Huber fungierte bis 2009 als Direktor der III. Medizinischen Klinik und Poliklinik der Universitätsmedizin der Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz. Er ist außerdem Vorsitzender der CIMT (Association for Cancer Immunotherapy) und sitzt im Vorstand des Ci3 Clusters für Individualisierte Immun Intervention (Ci3) e.V. Zudem berät Prof. Dr. Huber internationale Pharmafirmen sowie forschende Mittelstandsunternehmen und große wissenschaftliche Forschungsreinrichtungen. CIMT bietet den Mitgliedern Raum um Informationen und neuste Erkenntnisse zwischen akademischen und industriellen Wissenschaftlern, Physikern und Aufsichtsbehörden, welche Immuntherapien entwickeln, zu teilen. Prof. Dr. Huber ist maßgeblich für die Entstehung des CIMT-Kongresses in Mainz verantwortlich.